All tools › Localization & translation

DeepL: pricing, free tier and licence

price: verified licence: partial · last checked 2026-10-15 · https://www.deepl.com

Can I sell what it makes? Free tier: not stated. Paid: not stated. Full answer with sources

Machine translation for game text, store pages and patch notes. The Terms say nothing either way about who owns translations; we found no restriction on commercial use of translated text.

CategoryLocalization & translation
Free tierDeepL API Developer: free, one-time credit of 1 million characters, 1 API key (no web translator). DeepL Pro: 30-day free trial
Paid price (as shown)API Growth $26/mo billed annually + usage ($27.50 per extra 1M characters; 12M characters/yr included). Translator Pro (Germany, EUR): Individual €7.49/mo billed annually (300,000 characters), Team €24.99/user, Business €49.99/user; Enterprise custom
Price noteAPI prices shown for United States (USD); Translator Pro prices shown for Germany (EUR). Annual billing saves 20%
CurrencyUSD
Credits / cost per assetAPI: $27.50 per 1,000,000 extra characters on Growth
Licence: free tierDeepL Pro Terms: no clause on ownership of translations found; API Developer plan may not process personal data (s.8.3.11)
Licence: paidSame Terms; paid plans list 'No data training'
Export / engine supportCAT tool integration on Growth; MCP access announced for Copilot, ChatGPT and Claude
Engine integrations (vendor-stated)not stated
API / MCP accessREST API; MCP announced on the developer pages
IP indemnityNo vendor IP indemnity found in the terms; you must indemnify the vendor
AffiliateNo affiliate program verified

Sources

Changelog

Watch this tool

Get told when DeepL's price, credits, free tier or licence changes. Changes like these go out in the free weekly email (sign up below); or follow this tool in a feed reader with its Atom feed (JSON). No account needed for the feed.

Compare: DeepL vs Crowdin: game localization pricing and translation rights

Machine-readable: Markdown · JSON

FAQ

How much does DeepL cost?

As shown on the vendor's pricing page on 2026-10-15: API Growth $26/mo billed annually + usage ($27.50 per extra 1M characters; 12M characters/yr included). Translator Pro (Germany, EUR): Individual €7.49/mo billed annually (300,000 characters), Team €24.99/user, Business €49.99/user; Enterprise custom. API prices shown for United States (USD); Translator Pro prices shown for Germany (EUR). Annual billing saves 20%.

Does DeepL have a free tier?

DeepL API Developer: free, one-time credit of 1 million characters, 1 API key (no web translator). DeepL Pro: 30-day free trial.

Is DeepL free for commercial use?

Free tier: not stated. Paid plans: not stated. Free-tier licence text: DeepL Pro Terms: no clause on ownership of translations found; API Developer plan may not process personal data (s.8.3.11). Paid: Same Terms; paid plans list 'No data training'.

Does DeepL have an API or MCP server?

REST API; MCP announced on the developer pages.

How many assets do DeepL credits buy?

API: $27.50 per 1,000,000 extra characters on Growth.

More: Best AI localization and translation tools for games · Best tools by use case · Cost calculator · Commercial-use answers for every tool · AI tools you can ship with no attribution · Can I ship it? checker · AI rules by store

Other localization & translation tools

Crowdin · Gridly

Get the weekly what-changed email

Price changes, licence changes and new AI game-dev tools, pulled from tracked vendor pages every week. Free.

Form not loading? Subscribe on beehiiv.