2D, pixel art & sprites
Sprite sheets, pixel art, concept art, tiles and UI. 11 tools tracked. Picks: Best AI tools for pixel art and sprite sheets · ship with no attribution.
| Tool | Free tier | Paid price (as shown) | Commercial licence | API / MCP | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Scenario 2D, pixel art & sprites | 50 free daily credits, no credit card (per pricing page footer) | Starter $15/mo (1,500 credits); Pro $45/mo (5,000); Max $75/mo (10,000); Enterprise custom | Free: Terms s.4.3 (v2.1.1, updated Jul 16, 2026): 'You own your Generated Assets'; Scenario assigns you all right, title and interest, including commercial use. Applies to every plan; the Free Tier is a defined plan (s.3.1) Paid: Same s.4.3 grant; pricing page: 'You own your generated assets. Use them commercially, sell them, modify them' | MCP Server and API Reference linked from site footer | 2026-10-15 price: verified licence: verified |
| PixelLab 2D, pixel art & sprites | Free trial: 40 fast generations, then 5 daily slower generations (store up to 20); images up to 200x200 | Tier 1 $12/mo (2,000 gens); Tier 2 $24/mo (5,000); Tier 3 $50/mo (10,000) | Free: Commercial use allowed on free tier ('Use generated images commercially***') Paid: Commercial use; 'The user owns the rights to the generations with the exception of using them to train models' | API access and MCP 'AI Agent Toolkit' (Claude Code, Cursor) listed on free tier | 2026-10-15 price: verified licence: verified |
| Ludo.ai 2D, pixel art & sprites | 'Start free' offered; free credit amount not shown on pricing page | Indie $15/mo billed annually ($180/yr, 3,000 credits/yr); Pro $35/mo billed annually ($420/yr, 12,000 credits/yr); Studio $300/mo billed annually | Free: Docs FAQ: the person who initiates the generation is the full owner and may use, share or monetize it. Free-plan sprite sheet downloads carry a Ludo watermark Paid: Docs FAQ: you own generated content and may monetize it; watermark removed on any paid plan (retroactively) | API, MCP and CLI on Pro and Studio (not Indie); calls always use credits | 2026-10-15 price: verified licence: verified |
| Layer 2D, pixel art & sprites | not stated | Usage-based Creative Units (CUs); example Small Studio calculator total $60.00/mo; $0 per seat | Free: not stated Paid: Commercial license for all users (pricing page) | API access, webhook access; MCP linked in nav | 2026-10-15 price: verified licence: partial |
| Leonardo.Ai 2D, pixel art & sprites | Free: 150 fast tokens/day, public creations | Essential $12/mo (8,500 tokens); Premium $30/mo (25,000); Ultimate $60/mo (60,000); Teams from $24/seat | Free: Terms 8.7: on free subscriptions, ownership of Outputs vests in Leonardo Paid: Terms 8.3: on paid subscriptions, ownership of Content vests in you | Pay-as-you-go API; API credit doesn't expire | 2026-10-15 price: verified licence: verified |
| AutoSprite 2D, pixel art & sprites | Free: 15 monthly credits (up to 3 spritesheets), 2 standard-res unlocks/mo, 3 bonus daily credits | Starter $16/mo ($12 yearly, 500 credits); Pro $39/mo ($29 yearly, 1,500 credits); Enterprise $129/mo ($99 yearly) | Free: Terms s.4 (effective Sep 9, 2026): you own the rights in spritesheets and other outputs generated for you, to the extent permitted by your inputs and third-party materials. Not limited by plan Paid: Same s.4 grant (terms do not differ by plan) | API and MCP on Pro and above | 2026-10-15 price: verified licence: verified |
| Gamelabs Studio 2D, pixel art & sprites | Free trial: 20 credits forever, all features | Indie $10/mo (120 credits); Pro $20/mo (250); Studio $50/mo (650); one-time credit bundles also offered | Free: Full commercial rights stated for all generated assets ('No attribution required') Paid: Full commercial rights, no attribution required | Studio + MCP + API access on all monthly plans; works in Cursor/VS Code | 2026-10-15 price: verified licence: verified |
| Retro Diffusion 2D, pixel art & sprites | Free starting balance for new accounts ('enough for dozens of generations with RD Fast'), no card required | Pay per generation from prepaid balance: RD Pro $0.18/image; RD Plus $0.06/image; RD Fast $0.03/image; animations from $0.07/clip | Free: Terms: outputs (including from free usage) are owned by the person who generated them Paid: Same: outputs owned by the generator | HTTP API and hosted MCP server (homepage) | 2026-10-15 price: verified licence: verified |
| Recraft 2D, pixel art & sprites | Free: limited credits, 3 generations per style/day; images public | Basic $10/mo billed annually ($120/yr, 1,000 credits); Pro $16/mo billed annually; Teams $18/seat/mo billed annually | Free: Free plan images owned by Recraft, public, not licensed for commercial use Paid: Paid plans: full ownership and commercial rights, kept after cancelling | API billed in API Units | 2026-10-15 price: verified licence: verified |
| SpriteCook 2D, pixel art & sprites | Free: 40 credits every 30 days (about 5 standard 1K images), all generation modes, no card; free generations appear in the public gallery | Starter $8/mo (800 credits); Adventurer $30/mo (3,000); Archmage $70/mo (7,000) | Free: Pricing FAQ: commercial use on every plan including Free; no credit to SpriteCook required Paid: Same; private assets on paid plans; you keep assets if you cancel | API and MCP access on all plans including Free | 2026-10-15 price: verified licence: verified |
| Pixel Engine 2D, pixel art & sprites | Free: $0, 100 credits/month (starter credits) | Plus $12/mo (2,000 credits); Pro $20/mo (4,000); Ultra $60/mo (12,000) | Free: Terms (effective Oct 1, 2026): you may use what Pixel Engine generates for any purpose, including in commercial games. Not limited by plan Paid: Same (terms do not differ by plan) | HTTP API (/animate, /generate-image) and MCP server | 2026-10-15 price: verified licence: verified |
Get the weekly what-changed email
Price changes, licence changes and new AI game-dev tools, pulled from tracked vendor pages every week. Free.
Form not loading? Subscribe on beehiiv.