Unity AI vs GitHub Copilot: AI coding for Unity, price and output rights
Side-by-side from each vendor's own pricing and terms pages, checked 2026-10-15. Prices shown exactly as displayed (promos and billing period noted).
The licence question first
- Unity AI: free tier: commercial use allowed. Paid: commercial use allowed (Same; generations carry 'UnityAI' metadata so you can find and remove them before shipping). Details
- GitHub Copilot: free tier: commercial use allowed. Paid: commercial use allowed (Same (individual plans use ToS s.J; Business/Enterprise use the Generative AI Services Terms)). Details
| Unity AI | GitHub Copilot | |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | Unity Personal: 14-day free trial of Unity's AI tools, then a $10/month subscription; 1,000 monthly credit allowance listed for Personal. Unity's MCP server is free | Free: limited chat and agent usage |
| Paid price (as shown) | Personal: $10/month after the 14-day trial; Pro $210/mo per seat (from $2,310/yr) includes 2,000 monthly AI credits; Enterprise custom, 3,000 credits | Pro $10/mo; Pro+ $39/mo; Max $100/mo |
| Credits / cost per asset | Credit cost varies by task and model | not stated |
| Licence: free tier | Unity AI Guiding Principles: 'You own your input and output data'; training on your content is OFF by default | GitHub ToS s.J.2: GitHub does not claim ownership of your Input or Output; you must check whether Output needs a third-party/open-source licence |
| Licence: paid | Same; generations carry 'UnityAI' metadata so you can find and remove them before shipping | Same (individual plans use ToS s.J; Business/Enterprise use the Generative AI Services Terms) |
| Export / engines | Built into the Unity Editor (Assistant, Generators); Unity's MCP access and CLI listed on Personal | VS Code, JetBrains, CLI (any engine) |
| Engine integrations | Unity: built into the engine; MCP server: yes | MCP server: yes |
| API / MCP | Unity MCP access; AI Gateway on paid plans | Copilot CLI, cloud agent |
| IP indemnity | No vendor IP indemnity found in the terms; you must indemnify the vendor | Vendor says IP indemnity is not included |
| Affiliate | not stated | not stated |
Sources
- https://unity.com/products
- https://unity.com/features/ai
- https://unity.com/legal/unityai-guiding-principles
- https://unity.com/legal/terms-of-service
- https://github.com/features/copilot/plans
- https://docs.github.com/en/site-policy/github-terms/github-terms-of-service
- https://docs.github.com/en/site-policy/github-terms/github-terms-for-additional-products-and-features
Get the weekly what-changed email
Price changes, licence changes and new AI game-dev tools, pulled from tracked vendor pages every week. Free.
Form not loading? Subscribe on beehiiv.