Convai vs Inworld: AI NPC platform pricing and commercial licence
Side-by-side from each vendor's own pricing and terms pages, checked 2026-10-15. Prices shown exactly as displayed (promos and billing period noted).
The licence question first
- Convai: free tier: commercial use allowed. Paid: commercial use allowed (Same Terms s.3 ownership clause on every plan). Details
- Inworld AI: free tier: commercial use allowed. Paid: commercial use allowed (Same Terms assignment on every plan). Details
| Convai | Inworld AI | |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | Free: 100 interactions/month, 60 cloud-rendered minutes, 1 character session, 1 monthly active end user | On-Demand: $0, pay as you go; up to 70 min TTS included, 100 custom voices, 2 professional voice clones; 'Commercial license' listed |
| Paid price (as shown) | Indie Dev $29/mo ($22/mo billed yearly, 3,000 interactions, 75 MAU); Professional $99/mo ($69, 10,000, 250 MAU); Scale $499/mo ($299, 50,000, 1,250 MAU); Business $1,199/mo ($499 yearly 'limited time offer', 125,000, 2,500 MAU); Enterprise custom | Creator $25/mo ($25 credits); Builder $100/mo; Developer $300/mo; Growth $1,500/mo; Enterprise custom. TTS-2 $25/1M chars on On-Demand, down to $12.50 on Growth; STT $0.15/hr; LLM inference from $0.07/1M tokens |
| Credits / cost per asset | Interaction quota per month; plans cap monthly active end users (players who talk to your characters) | TTS-2 Flash $15/1M chars on On-Demand ($7 on Growth) |
| Licence: free tier | Terms of Service (last updated Sep 1, 2025) s.3: 'You shall have ownership over the Customer Content and AI Generated Content at all times.' Not limited by plan | Pricing page lists 'Commercial license' on the free On-Demand tier; Terms (effective Jun 11, 2025): 'we assign to you all of our right, title, and interest in Outputs' |
| Licence: paid | Same Terms s.3 ownership clause on every plan | Same Terms assignment on every plan |
| Export / engines | Official docs: Unity SDK (Unity Package Manager package com.convai.convai-sdk-for-unity, or the Unity Asset Store) and an Unreal Engine plugin that 'connects Unreal Engine 5 projects to Convai' | Realtime TTS/STT/LLM APIs; Unreal AI Runtime SDK live and Unity AI Runtime SDK in early access (Inworld blog, Oct 29, 2025) |
| Engine integrations | Unity: official plugin / add-on; Unreal Engine: official plugin / add-on | Unity: mentioned by the vendor; Unreal Engine: official plugin / add-on |
| API / MCP | API keys and SDKs; Vision ability via APIs on all plans | API (TTS, STT, speech-to-speech, LLM router) |
| IP indemnity | No vendor IP indemnity found in the terms; you must indemnify the vendor | No vendor IP indemnity found in the terms; you must indemnify the vendor |
| Affiliate | not stated | not stated |
Sources
- https://convai.com/pricing
- https://convai.com/tos
- https://docs.convai.com
- https://inworld.ai/pricing
- https://inworld.ai/terms
Get the weekly what-changed email
Price changes, licence changes and new AI game-dev tools, pulled from tracked vendor pages every week. Free.
Form not loading? Subscribe on beehiiv.