Compare

Claude Code vs GitHub Copilot for game development: price and output rights

Side-by-side from each vendor's own pricing and terms pages, checked 2026-10-15. Prices shown exactly as displayed (promos and billing period noted).

The licence question first

Claude CodeGitHub Copilot
Free tierNot included in Free plan (pricing table: Claude Code 'No' on Free)Free: limited chat and agent usage
Paid price (as shown)Pro $20/mo monthly ($17/mo annual); Max from $100/moPro $10/mo; Pro+ $39/mo; Max $100/mo
Credits / cost per assetnot statednot stated
Licence: free tiern/a (Claude Code not included on Free)GitHub ToS s.J.2: GitHub does not claim ownership of your Input or Output; you must check whether Output needs a third-party/open-source licence
Licence: paidConsumer Terms s.4: subject to compliance, Anthropic assigns to you all of its right, title and interest (if any) in OutputsSame (individual plans use ToS s.J; Business/Enterprise use the Generative AI Services Terms)
Export / enginesTerminal/IDE agent (any engine)VS Code, JetBrains, CLI (any engine)
API / MCPAPI via Anthropic Platform (separate commercial terms)Copilot CLI, cloud agent
Affiliatenot statednot stated

Sources

Get the weekly what-changed email

Price changes, licence changes and new AI game-dev tools, pulled from tracked vendor pages every week. Free.

Form not loading? Subscribe on beehiiv.