# GitHub Copilot: pricing, free tier and commercial licence

> GitHub Copilot (Coding agents & engine AI). Checked 2026-10-15 against the vendor's own pages. Free tier commercial use: commercial use allowed. Paid commercial use: commercial use allowed.

- Website: https://github.com/features/copilot
- Verification: price verified, licence verified
- Free tier: Free: limited chat and agent usage
- Paid price (as shown): Pro $10/mo; Pro+ $39/mo; Max $100/mo (Usage metered in GitHub AI Credits)
- Credits / cost per asset: not stated
- Licence, free tier: GitHub ToS s.J.2: GitHub does not claim ownership of your Input or Output; you must check whether Output needs a third-party/open-source licence
- Licence, paid: Same (individual plans use ToS s.J; Business/Enterprise use the Generative AI Services Terms)
- Export / engine support: VS Code, JetBrains, CLI (any engine)
- API / MCP access: Copilot CLI, cloud agent
- Engine integrations (vendor-stated): not stated; MCP server
- IP indemnity from vendor: not_included; you indemnify vendor: not_reviewed
- Affiliate program: unverified

Note: Unless you opt out, GitHub may use your Inputs and Outputs to train models (ToS s.J.3).

## Sources

- [https://github.com/features/copilot/plans](https://github.com/features/copilot/plans)
- [https://docs.github.com/en/site-policy/github-terms/github-terms-of-service](https://docs.github.com/en/site-policy/github-terms/github-terms-of-service)
- [https://docs.github.com/en/site-policy/github-terms/github-terms-for-additional-products-and-features](https://docs.github.com/en/site-policy/github-terms/github-terms-for-additional-products-and-features)

## Changelog

- 2026-10-15: Added to index; baseline snapshot of pricing/terms pages taken.
- 2026-10-15: Correction: Licence verified: GitHub ToS s.J.2, GitHub does not claim ownership of Output (was unverified).

HTML: https://assetforgeindex.com/tools/github-copilot · JSON: https://assetforgeindex.com/api/tools/github-copilot.json
